Skip to main content

Four from VUMC receive Heart Rhythm Society awards

May. 31, 2023, 2:27 PM

Bjorn Knollman, MD, PhD

by Matt Batcheldor

Four physician-scientists from Vanderbilt University Medical Center won awards during the Heart Rhythm Society’s (HRS) annual meeting from May 19-21 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Bjorn Knollman, MD, PhD, professor of Medicine and Pharmacology, received the Distinguished Basic Scientist Award. The recognition is for individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of scientific knowledge in the field of cardiac pacing and/or cardiac electrophysiology.

Yuko Wada, MD, PhD

Yuko Wada, MD, PhD, a research fellow in Clinical Pharmacology, received the Young Investigator Award. The award recognizes and encourages the work of young investigators and their current institutions.

Megan Lancaster, MD, PhD, won the Sudden Arrythmia Death Syndromes (SADS) Foundation’s Courts K. Cleveland, Jr. Young Investigator Award in Cardiac Channelopathy Research.

Lancaster is a clinical fellow in Cardiovascular Medicine and postdoctoral fellow in the Vanderbilt Genomic Medicine Training Program.

Megan Lancaster, MD, PhD

The award was created to encourage the next generation of researchers in SADS conditions.

Alexandra “Allie” Williams, MD, a second-year resident in Pediatrics, won the Joan and Douglas P. Zipes Publication of the Year Award.

The award was established to honor the seminal article published in the journal Heart Rhythm each year that most contributed to major advances in understanding and/or treating cardiac arrhythmias.

The HRS is a specialty organization that represents more than 8,000 medical, allied health, and

Alexandra “Allie” Williams, MD

science professionals from more than 90 countries who specialize in cardiac rhythm disorders. It is a leading resource on cardiac pacing and electrophysiology.

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice