Skip to main content

Nominations sought for Academic Enterprise Faculty Awards

Jan. 7, 2016, 8:37 AM

The deadline for submitting nominations for the 2016 Vanderbilt University Medical Center Academic Enterprise Faculty Awards for teaching, clinical service and research has been extended to Monday, February 15.

Award recipients are nominated by their faculty colleagues and chosen by the 2016 VUMC Academic Enterprise Faculty Awards Selection Committees. The awards, presented during the spring faculty meeting, are listed below.

School of Medicine Awards for Excellence in Teaching

• Robert D. Collins Award for Teaching Medical or Graduate Students or Practicing Physicians in the Lecture Setting;

• Elaine Sanders-Bush Award for Mentoring Graduate and/or Medical Students in the Research Setting;

Jacek Hawiger Award for Teaching Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows in the Classroom, Lecture, or Small Group Setting;

• R. Michael Rodriguez Award for Teaching Medical Students, Residents, and/or Fellows in the Clinical Setting; and

• Denis O’Day Award for excellence team-implemented curricular reform.

School of Medicine Awards for Extraordinary Performance of Clinical Service

• W. Anderson Spickard, Jr. Award – for Clinical Excellence in a Cognitive Discipline; and

• Mildred T. Stahlman Award for Innovation in Clinical Care

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Research by faculty members in the Schools of Medicine and Nursing

• Stanley Cohen Award for Research Bridging Diverse Disciplines, such as Chemistry or Physics, to Solve Biology’s Most Important Fundamental Questions;

• John H. Exton Award for Research Leading to Innovative Biological Concepts;

Grant W. Liddle Award for Outstanding Contributions in Clinical Research; and

• Charles R. Park Award for Basic Research Revealing Insights into Physiology and Pathophysiology.

Nomination packages must be submitted as a single pdf, and must include a letter of nomination, current CV and three supporting letters from colleagues. The nomination letter is typically written by a department chair or center director, but it also may be submitted other colleagues.

Teaching award nominations also must include supporting letters from fellows, residents and students. Letters from individuals who were previously trained by the nominee are not required, but are strongly encouraged.

Previous winners of research and teaching awards are not eligible unless they have made a substantial new discovery or contribution.

Research award nominations should be submitted to Jeanna Scholz in the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs at

Clinical service and teaching award nominations should be submitted to Auda Hutto in the School of Medicine Office of Faculty Affairs at

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice